Comparison

AGIT next to the field

Comparisons are usually written by the winner, so here is our attempt at the honest version. We looked closely at five tools people actually use for long-form writing — Scrivener, NovelCrafter, Sudowrite, StoryStruct and Writingway — and we link every one of them so you can check our homework. They are good tools. They are also different bargains: different platforms, different AI arrangements, different ideas about where your words live and who pays.

The one-line shape of it: most writing software is either a subscription web service with AI attached, or a one-time-purchase editor with none. AGIT is a free desktop studio whose real difference sits underneath the editor — a knowledge engine that reads your research, keeps your lore consistent and automates the small jobs — with AI added through your keys rather than sold through ours.

The five, in their own terms

Scrivener — the veteran studio

A desktop app with a one-time licence ($59.99 per platform) and twenty years of trust. Its compile system is the industry standard for producing typeset EPUB, PDF and DOCX, and its corkboard and outliner taught a generation of novelists how to structure a book. There is no AI at all, the interface shows its age, and it keeps everything local. If you want proven, offline and end-to-end output, Scrivener remains a fine answer — we link it so you can judge: literatureandlatte.com/store/scrivener.

NovelCrafter — the web-based codex

A web app (nothing to install) built around the Codex, a story bible that tracks and links characters, places and lore across a series, with planning views and an AI workshop. AI runs on your own connection — OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, OpenRouter, or local models via LM Studio and Ollama — with plans from about $4/month up to $20/month, plus whatever your provider charges. Collaboration for writing groups is a real strength. Being a web app means your manuscripts live in their cloud, and your provider's data terms govern what you send through the AI: novelcrafter.com.

Sudowrite — the managed AI service

A web subscription (from about $10/month billed yearly, $19 month-to-month) built around a fiction-tuned model of their own. Story Engine walks you from idea to outline to chapters; Write, Describe, Expand and Rewrite handle drafting; Canvas and Brainstorm handle ideas. For handing drafting work to a service, it is polished. It is fiction-shaped by design, your work lives in their cloud, and the meter runs on credits: sudowrite.com.

StoryStruct — the structure-first newcomer

A browser-based workspace, free in early access, from a writer who discloses their bias in their own comparisons — which we respect. Five rails (Plot, Cast, Threads, Manuscript, Feedback) treat structure as a first-class object, and the flagship feature parses beta-reader feedback into anchored, replayable reviews. No AI at all, EU hosting, and a genuinely thoughtful privacy posture. Export is DOCX only today, and there is no desktop app: storystruct.com.

Writingway — the open-source tinkerer's tool

Free and MIT-licensed, runs locally, and approaches AI the same way AGIT does: bring your own model, whether that is a built-in llama.cpp, Ollama, or a cloud key. Its Compendium and scene-beat prompt builder cover the same story-bible ground, and version 2 removed the install friction of the Python original. It is a one-developer project — younger and smaller in scope than AGIT, without (for example) the research tooling, MCP support, template library or audiobook export — but an admirable neighbour in the bring-your-own-AI camp, documented on its developer's site: aomukai.com.

The differences, side by side

Where a fact is not stated on a competitor's own site, we say so rather than guess. Prices and features change — check their pages for the current state.

AGIT 1.0.1 next to Scrivener, NovelCrafter, Sudowrite, StoryStruct and Writingway
AGITScrivenerNovelCrafterSudowriteStoryStructWritingway
PriceFree, and it stays freeOne-time $59.99 per platformSubscription ~$4–20/mo + provider costsSubscription ~$10/mo yearly ($19 monthly), creditsFree (early access)Free, open source (MIT)
PlatformWindows desktop (macOS planned)Desktop Win/Mac, iOS extraWeb browserWeb browserWeb browserLocal web app, any OS
AI approachBring your own: API keys, OpenAI-compatible endpoints, local Ollama and GGUF models, MCP serversNoneBring your own provider (incl. OpenRouter, local)Built-in fiction-tuned modelNone (deliberate)Bring your own (llama.cpp, Ollama, cloud keys)
Knowledge and loreReads your project: local index over research files, auto-suggested story bible, timeline, relationship and lore canvasesManual metadata and notesCodex story bible with auto-linkingStory Bible workflow (cloud)Structure rails (plot, cast, threads)Compendium with tagged context
Beyond fictionTemplates for academic papers, business plans, whitepapers, screen/stage/radio plays, guides, recipes — plus Python data toolsGeneral writing, best-in-class compileLists non-fiction among use casesFiction by designFiction structure and feedbackFiction, poetry and screenwriting
Your data livesOn your disk — relocatable folder, optional sync to your own cloud storageOn your diskTheir cloudTheir cloudEU cloud (Netherlands)On your disk
ExportDOCX, EPUB, PDF, HTML, Markdown, TXT + audiobook (spoken TTS)DOCX, EPUB, PDF — the standard for typeset outputNot stated on their home pageNot stated on their home pageDOCX (no EPUB yet)Not stated in their README
Offline capableYes, fully — with local modelsYesLocal models via LM Studio/Ollama; the app is still a web pageNo (cloud service)No (cloud service)Yes, with local models
ImportDOCX, PDF, EPUB, RTF, Markdown, TXT + OCR for scans and imagesDOCX, RTF, TXT, Final Draft, moreNot stated on their home pageNot stated on their home pageDOCXNot stated in their README

What AGIT does not do

No honest comparison skips this section.

The honest list

  • AGIT is Windows-only today. macOS builds are planned. If you write on a Mac and want a native app this year, Scrivener or Writingway will serve you better.
  • It is a single-user app. There is no co-authoring or team editing like NovelCrafter's collaboration.
  • It ships no AI model of its own. You bring an API key or run a local model. That is freedom, but it is also a small errand — Sudowrite's one-click drafting is genuinely easier the day you want zero setup.
  • There is no web or phone companion. Your novel lives on the PC where you installed it (and on whatever sync target you gave it).
  • No beta-feedback parsing like StoryStruct's anchored reviews.
  • Scrivener's compile remains the gold standard for heavily typeset output. AGIT's exports are clean and capable rather than typesetting-deep.

The short version

Who each tool is for

  • Scrivener if you want the proven offline studio and the best typeset compile, and a $59.99 ticket sounds fair for twenty years of polish.
  • NovelCrafter if you want a web app with a strong codex and real team collaboration, and a monthly plan fits how you work.
  • Sudowrite if you want a managed AI drafting service and are happy to pay monthly and feed the meter.
  • StoryStruct if structure and beta-feedback handling matter more to you than AI.
  • Writingway if you want a small, open-source, bring-your-own-model companion.
  • AGIT if you want a free, local studio that remembers everything — research, lore, characters, timelines — automates the busywork, works for fiction and everything else, and treats AI as a tool on your terms, not a subscription.

That last line is the whole pitch, and it costs nothing to try: download AGIT and use it. If it is not for you, the other five are all good at what they do — and now you know exactly where each one stands.